A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5
Old 08-09-2016, 12:45 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Audi A4 (B7) Specifications & General Maintenance
Print Wikipost

looking into 2006 Audi A4 2.0T quattro reliability

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2010, 12:46 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking into 2006 Audi A4 2.0T quattro reliability

Hey there

I am new to audi/vw (Subaru family), but I like the looks of the a4 avant and was wondering about the reliability of the car.
The one I am looking at is at 68K.

Please let me know what y'all think ?

Link:
http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...5&aff=national

Thanks
-Simo
Old 01-19-2010, 02:48 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

The Audi's are high-quality, over-engineered German vehicles; reliability is not an issue as long as proper maintenance is applied to the machines.

To meet a number of high-performance design requirements, all Audi engines are "interference" designs in which the valves and pistons alternately occupy the same volume within the engine cylinders. The timing-belt is the means by which the movement of all of these moving parts is synchronized. Therefore, a timing-belt failure can result in a catastrophic collision of many expensive engine parts. As a result, Audi owners tend to scrupulously ensure that they schedule a timing-belt replacement every 70K-miles or so.

Given that the car under consideration is currently at 68K-miles, you really should get proof that the car has had a recent timing-belt replacement or you should make the timing-belt replacement a condition-of-sale prior to accepting delivery of the car.

Just a word of caution... ;-)
Old 01-20-2010, 02:56 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default Reliability...