A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

A4 1.8T or maxima????

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2000, 09:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A4 1.8T or maxima????

Ok I need some help from all you Audi owners!! I am considering getting a new car, and as you can assume from the subject line it is either an A4 1.8T or y2k maximaSE. I have read mostly good things about the A4, but a few points are still holding up my decision. First a quick background on me. I'm 26, soon to be married, no kids and no mortgage payment yet. I'm a consultant so I'm on the road alot. I can afford either car, and my fiance' has a jeep grand cherokee.(relivent for later points) I currently drive a 97 nissan sentra. Ok now for your help. I haven't driven either car yet, but I know most everything else about both. I love everything I hear about the A4 from it's styling and performance. I have enjoyed for 3 1/2 years wonderful reliability from my sentra. 78K miles and still drives like brand new! I have no doubt that a maxima will be equally as reliable, and want (and hope) and investment in an A4 will be equally as reliable. This is my main sticking point. I plan on keeping this next one for a while. So, I not only want a car that will inspire me for years to come, but one that will also let me drive it that long. Any thoughts on this point?? I know the max has a V6 and a few more ponies than the A4, but remember I have a tiny sentra so either one will be an upgrade. Any thoughts on the performance of the A4?? My small car now suites my needs, but a larger max does intrigue me a bit. My wife-to-be though has plenty of room in her jeep if we need it so this point is less of an issue, but it is there. Any thoughts about the space inside of the A4?? These are the options I was considering with the A4: tiptronic trans, quattro, sport package. These do jack up the price, so are any of them a must get when considering the A4?(the tiptronic