A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

After Market Stereo Install Quick Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2013, 05:38 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After Market Stereo Install Quick Question

So I've been doing a lot of reading on how to install a aftermarket head unit into my 98 Audi A4 2.8L with the full BOSE system. I've read countless threads/FAQs/guides on how to do it. Though I'm still confused because a lot of the different threads contradict each other.

I understand I'm going to need the speaker harness, and a radio antenna adapter, and the other harness for the rear speakers that run through the stock amp.

I have a Pioneer DXT-2266UB head unit that I bought a few years back for my other car and I wanted to see if I could put it into my Audi because I want to have a USB connection/AUX Port so I can charge/use my phone for music.

Now I'm not very good with car audio since my last car was purely a plug and play with an adapter harness.

If I'm not mistaken my head unit only has one preamp output (Because it has only one set of left and right RCA cables) And in order to get the back two speakers of the A4 Bose system you need to have two preamp outputs? Correct?

If that's the case is there anything I can do with this head unit/wiring to make it work...probably not but Is there a way I could connect my head unit to the factory amp with a direct connection and then rewire the back two speakers to the factory amp? I don't think I'd even attempt that though if I could. I'm just curious to what my options are.

Thanks.
Old 06-04-2013, 09:19 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Anyone? It's like a yes or no question. The main thing I want to know is if my after market headunit has the right pre amp outs, which I don't think it does I just need a clarification.
Old 06-07-2013, 11:42 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by Ryanic