A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Aftermarket air filter benefits?

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-1999, 03:40 PM
BDW

Default Aftermarket air filter benefits?

<br>I've had my 1.8TQM (Sport) for a little over a week. I'm planning on chipping it sometime in the next year. I'm new to this A4 passion/obsession/love affair, but quickly falling victim to this car's many charms. Please excuse if this is a dumb question, but will replacing my stock air filter with a more free breathing aftermarket filter give me any noticeable performance benefits while I ponder the many chip options that are out there? Thanks...
Old 03-01-1999, 04:18 PM
Howard Kim

Default My take...

Hello,<p>This is my take on the air filter debate. You will probably get conflicting opinions, but they are only opinions. What is comes down to is personal preference and personal choice.<p>I have chosen to put in a K&N drop in filter in my 98.5 1.8t. I also have the Neuspeed chip. That is the extent of my engine performance mods.<p>My impressions. I didn't expect a huge performance boost when I added the filter. I added the filter because it is a lifetime product that only needs to be cleaned/recharged at ~30K intervals (according to manuf.). In the long run, the filter pays for itself.<p>When I put the filter in, the car seemed (I stress seemed as it has not been on a dyno) to accelerate smoother. The engine revved very smooth and throttle response was a tad better. At freeway speed (70mph) my car seemed to "breath" better and therefore respond better when I hit the gas.<p>Just my opinion.<p>Howard Kim<br>98.5 A4 1.8tms(neu) and K&N
Old 03-01-1999, 04:28 PM
Steve S.

Default I agree with Howard