A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Brake systems rant with some questions....(long)

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2002, 08:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake systems rant with some questions....(long)

OK, lemme start by saying that I am by no means an expert in braking. As a matter of fact, during an exchange about Brembo vs. Stoptech with James R. (I think) a few weeks ago, he lost me with the physics of it all.

But I still got to thinking about what a big brake kit really does. I came up with some things that I wasn't able to explain to myself. So, maybe one of you can find the fault or truth in my logic. OK, here it is.

I know that the stock brake system has enough stopping power to engage the ABS. My point is, on a limited basis, the stock system can apply enough power, that the limiting factor for stopping distance become the friction between the tires and the road surface. Granted, repeated high speek stops would reduce the stock system's ability to apply that power through pad fade and/or fluid fade. But I think my logic is sound.

So let's look at a big brake kit, be it Stoptech, Brembo, or whatever. I think we can all agree that these kits as well have enough stopping power to engage the ABS, again making the limiting factor tire-to-road friction.

It seems to me that even though the big brake kits can apply more stopping power, they can only apply the same amount as the stock system...the amount up to the point of ABS engagement. After that, the extra "braking power" is useless. So, it is physically sound logic to assume that on a limited basis, ie when the various brake systems are withing normal operating temps, the big brake kits would not improve stopping distance over stock brakes?