A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

HELP! Cams jumped out of timing

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2011, 04:46 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP! Cams jumped out of timing

Hey guys,

I was changing my t-belt and noticed a lot of oil leaks from the passenger side valve cover area. I decided to change the valve cover gasket and tensioner gaskets as well. When I was attempting to pull off the double cap, I had forgotten to remove to Cam Position sensor. When I went to remove it, both cams turned to their next position, and the timing is off. How do I reset it? Do I continue pulling the cam tensioner and reposition them manually? Or do I reinsert the bolt on the cam positioning sensor and turn until both are back in time? I'm freaking out because I am new to Audi and have read horror stories about even being 1 tooth out. Thanks for the help!
Old 01-12-2011, 04:48 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Sorry, it is a 99 A4, 2.8.
Old 01-13-2011, 05:06 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

you have the T-belt removed? so I assume you have no Cam Loc tool in place???? it sound like you still have the cam chain on so both cams moved?
to change the cam chain tensioner you generally leave the t-belt on.
but no matter what you have you just carefully move the cams back in time. you cna turn them by the bolt in the main cam pulley, the problem is if the cams spun under pressure from the valve springs they can spin pretty quick and bend a valve.
if you were removing the tensioner and just 1 cam spun then you also need to move it back manually and count the teeth on the cam chain to put it back (passenger side head is different then drivers side)