A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

HELP.....CEL flashing but going out quickly

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2011, 05:20 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP.....CEL flashing but going out quickly

Ok so I am new to this. The other week I pulled the codes on my 01 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T it gave me P0300, P0303 ,P0304, P0038. After alot of searching we replaced the spark plugs, and found the firing order, and followed the misfire by switching coil packs then replaced the coil packs that we thought were bad. The car ran fine for a few days no problems at all. Yesterday while out driving the CEL flashed once then went off. I brought the car home hooked up the code reader and it had pulled P0300, P0301,P0302. I cleared all the codes and we took it out for a drive to see if it would happen again.....it took about 15-20 minutes before it did but once again the CEL light flashed once and then went off and the same codes pulled. When we originally followed the misfire we swapped out 4 to 2 so 2 has a brand new coil pack in it.....could it be bad straight from the store? and why is 1 now misfiring??? We do know that it needs a valve cover replaced and we have it already just not got it on. Could that be causing the misfires???? I need help PLEASE!!!
Old 05-28-2011, 07:16 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

You might have to get more technical with this one. Bentley has some good proceedures for diagnosing a P0300, but you need a VAG-COM so you can read Measuring block 14. The ECU needs good information to fire those cylinders, and given the logical steps you've taken, your problem might be elsewhere.

The engine speed sensor comes to mind right away. Bentley tells you how to test that too.

The price of a Bentley is a lot less than a trip to the dealer.
Old 05-28-2011, 08:06 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts