A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

QT: what's the diff. between pro paint job and cheap paint job?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2001, 10:13 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default QT: what's the diff. between pro paint job and cheap paint job?

i'm a newbie and know nothing about paint job. how can u tell if a car's got a paint job? how can u tell if it's a good one or not? how much should i expect for a pro one?

thanx
Old 04-21-2001, 10:16 AM

If your car has paint on it, it has a paint job. If it's an Audi paint job, it's a good paint job.
Old 04-21-2001, 10:19 AM
AudiWorld Expert

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cheap Vs Expensive

Well first off a cheap paint job, say 300 bucks will get you a few layers of cheap paint with very little prep work. Some masking and that's it. With expensive paint jobs, they usually end up taking apart a lot of your car to paint it correctly. Pro paint jobs they can paint your engine bay to match the rest of the car in case you're changing colors. If you're selling a car and want it to look decent, cheap paint job... if you're keeping a car and want to get it repainted... dish out the big bucks and get it done right. You won't get any overspray, and your car should match all around.
Old 04-21-2001, 10:20 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default no... really

i need to learn how to tell if a car's got a good paint job or not. a friend of mine taught me about this but still i can't tell.
Old 04-21-2001, 10:24 AM

Look for overspray, quality of color, you can tell: if it looks expensive, it is expensive.
Old 04-21-2001, 10:32 AM
AudiWorld Member

Default Time and Money

A good paintjob is usually done by a facility with proper downdraft ventilation to maintain a sterile environment.
The painter uses name brand paints and has no problem spending the time to prep the car properly.
That may include removing all mouldings and minimal masking.