A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

what to also do while servicing timing belt

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2012, 11:25 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what to also do while servicing timing belt

Hello,

I'm new to driving my 99.5 A4 1.8TQM - I'm going to be getting the timing belt serviced this month with the kit from blauparts. In addition to the TB kit, I also saw their Valve Cover Cam Chain Tensioner Gasket Kit, of which I also plan to purchase and complete when the car is apart.

My question - is there anything else that is worthwhile doing while the car is disassembled? Should I purchase a head gasket & have them replace this also? Is there anything in particular other than the valve cover cam chain tensioner & tb kits that I should look at purchasing to ensure maximum reliablity?

Also, what about the turbo? Is this easily accessible and serviceable in addition to the timing belt? I was told by a previous mechanic that it's leaking oil - is this worth addressing now?

I'm looking to be as thorough as possible and am having trouble finding out which items I should include with this service.

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-01-2012, 07:58 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 100 Likes on 89 Posts

Did you order the full Blau kit with water pump and thermostat? You should change those too (I have that kit being delivered this week). Head gasket can be ignored unless you have some reason to suspect it. You are also going to have the plugs out while doing the belt, might as well change those unless they are fairly fresh. Also the snub mount will be easy and cheap to change while in service position.

Take a good look at cooling hoses, motor mounts, and rubber ducting from air cleaner to the turbo, which sometimes develops cracks. Mechanical fan clutch would be easy to change at this time too, if it has quit working.