A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Are "Xenon" headlights the same as "Halogen"?

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-1999, 07:31 AM
Marc

Are "Xenon" headlights the same as "Halogen"?
Old 01-18-1999, 08:33 AM
HermanH

Default Xenon gas is diff. than Halogen gas. Xenon burns brighter.

Actually, "burn" is NOT the correct term to use. All headlamps incoprorating any type of hallide or inert gas, utilize electricity to "excite" the molecules; depending upon the type of gas and the amount of electricity utilized. That's about all the Chemistry I can remember. I guess Xenon get's brighter than Halogen when given enough electrons flowing though the gas. I don't know what the HID lamps contain.<p>HermanH
Old 01-18-1999, 10:08 AM
Kyle Bailey

Default There's more to it than that...

I'm no expert, but it was just explained to me this morning. Halogen gas essentially allows the tungsten filament to burn hotter (thus whiter) without reducing the life of the bulb by redepositing some of the tungsten on the filament. A chemist will have to give us the full explanation.<p>As I understand it, the HID bulbs are arc lamps and there is no filament. Xenon is the gas used to give the color characteristics. There is no filament involved.<p>Kyle
Old 01-18-1999, 10:35 AM
Marc

Thanks for that, it really helped!
Old 01-18-1999, 01:26 PM
Brad Franklin

Default In depth for you nerds out there...