A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

APR vs. AWE

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2009, 09:39 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default APR vs. AWE

I'm new to the Audi scene but not to upgrading cars in general. I know that alot can be found on forum sites like this one, so I have a few questions I want to throw out there (and many more if I get a good response from these). I have an '03 Audi A4 Quattro, 1.8T. I was looking at companies that made performance parts and came across two that I thought were the cream of the crop considering all that was out there. One of the quickest and easiest bangs for the buck in these cars seems to be the ECU and it's tuning. In looking at the AWE flash (GIAC flashloader chipset) I can notice the quality but the performance isn't what the APR Stage 1+ can deliver. I'm sure some of you have experience with either company. Can anyone give me some advice as to why I would choose the GIAC or the APR Stage 1+ and feature some pros and cons on both types? I was also looking at the diverter valves, exhausts and intakes. Is there a major difference between a diaphram diverter and a piston diverter valve? And I heard the sound clip on the AWE exhaust... is there a sound clip of the APR Stealth exhaust (I hate loud, tin can exhausts)? Are there any other options other than the Carbonio intake out there? I know this is alot to ask all at once, but it took me a while to actually find a forum that I thought would be helpful and I tried to do as much homework on various sites and performance parts before I came on here and seemed like a noob. I appreciate any feedback you guys can give. Thanks.
Old 07-12-2009, 07:38 AM
AudiWorld Member

... hmm. Was I wrong about this site? 25 views since yesterday and not one person responded. Am I in the wrong section of the forums?
Old 07-13-2009, 09:47 AM
Former Vendor

Originally Posted by lilgreenbottles