A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Auto vs. Manual

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2002, 03:31 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Auto vs. Manual

Hi,

I've been driving automatic cars for over 10 years. I'm now interested in an A4 and the possibility of a manual transmission.

For those of you who were drivers of automatics and recently converted to sticks (there seem to be at least a few of you here), are you happy with the switch?

I do a lot of in town driving, and drive the occasional steep slope in San Francisco. I'm concerned that after the novelty factor of owning my first manual wears off, that I will be stuck with an annoyance.

I wish I could borrow someone's car with a manual and drive it around for a month, but thats hard to do.

What do you think? No religious wars, please :-)

Thanks!
John

P.S. Great board!
Old 07-20-2002, 03:42 PM
DCS

Default i guess it depends

My wife has had stick her entire life and swears that for her next car she's ONLY considering an auto.

Up until my A4 I've had all autos but I don't see myself ever going back.

I live in central NJ and there's a lot of traffic but it doesn't bother me. Whether in gridlock or in Manhatten stick is OK w/me. I don't suspect the "novelty" to wear off for quite some time.
Old 07-20-2002, 03:43 PM

Default Re: Auto vs. Manual

As a recent Manual to Auto transplant, I can tell you that the former is much more fun to drive for so many reasons, but mainly because you have so much more control over the car.

That said, a stick is a royal PITA when on steep hills and takes some practice if you are coming to a full stop and start on an incline. Also parallel parking on a hill with a stick can be VERY difficult.

I do a lot of city driving and found that the stick is actually a lot of fun around town. However, it is NOT fun in bumper-to-bumper.