A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Climate Control

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2004, 06:18 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Climate Control

When the system is in Auto does pressing the one of the three panels for air direction take it off Auto, I know the light(s) go off but it is still working?

I like the Auto feature but it always seems to blow in my face, can I just press the floor and face button to disperse some air flow and still enjoy the benefits of Auto?
Old 04-29-2004, 06:25 PM

Default IIRC

The "auto" feature decides where to direct the airflow. The climate control will always change the fan speed and air temp to compensate for the cabin temp and the desired temp.
Old 04-29-2004, 06:33 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Some advice....

I used to be a Climate control systems engineer, so here's some advice.

The system is designed to cool the entire vehicle and try to keep a consistent temperature around the driver. The temp setting on the screen is the temp that the CC will try to achieve for the surrounding air temp. Since it's a dual zone system it can try to achive this for driver and passenger.

With this said, to take full benefit of the AUTO feature, you should always leave it in full auto. If you find that the air flow is bothersome, then you should redirect the air vents manually at the vent and not using the CC setting. If you find that the temperature in the car is undesirable, then you should adjust the temp setting. If you still are uncomfortable, then you should override the fan speed, but the last thing you should do is adjust the air direction using the CC settings.
Old 04-29-2004, 07:06 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default what makes you say this:

"...the last thing you should do is adjust the air direction using the CC settings."