A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

sad story

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2002, 08:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sad story

Hi everyone,
I am a newbie...and I read the thread with all the newbie flames and enjoyed it thoroughly. I've been reading posts for a while, but I rarely post. I'll try to avoid saying anything stupid. This question isn't necessarily Audi specific, but my Audi is involved, so I figured I'd see if anyone knows how Audi Financial Services might handle this (from personal experience/hearsay). My 2002 A4 1.8TMQ is at a body shop right now because some girl made a stupid mistake and pulled out in front of me when I was going about 45 mph. I hit her with my front end, airbags deployed, everything crumpled, I'm OK, she's OK, her insurance is paying the bill. Now, I got a phonecall on Friday from my appraiser telling me that the damage cost was up to roughly $13K and climbing because they haven't yet added in the "frame damage." Now, that little phrase right there frightens me. I'm thinking two things right now:
1) how long before the car becomes a total loss?
2) how bad is frame damage and will the car ever be the same?