A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Update on the other day's ESP/EDL/ABS discussion on the B6 S4 forum (long)...

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2004, 05:32 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Update on the other day's ESP/EDL/ABS discussion on the B6 S4 forum (long)...

Since I'm a brave and crazy Canuck I went and test drove the car on nice snow covered roads to experiment how the car and its electronics would react under different situations. Montreal and its surroundings have been getting its fair share of snow lately. Road conditions varied from hard packed snow type roads to loose snow type snow covered roads. Since I'm not an expert, my conclusions <b>may be wrong</b>. Oversteer under some conditions was minimal at best if any. However it was very wild under other conditions. Please read on.

I always drive with my ESP switched to the <b>OFF</b> position. So this little amount of testing was done to show that even with the ESP in the <b>OFF</b> position under certain conditions it might come back on and intervene.

<b>Scenario #1:</B>

- ESP = OFF
- Gas pedal = full power!
- Steering wheel angle = as required to keep the
- car under control while accelerating at full
- power.

What I was attempting to do was to provoke the ESP to come back on by abruptly giving steering wheel inputs from left to right as if going through a series of pylons 50' apart.

Conclusion of this little test; no ESP intervention even if the car was fish tailing from side to side or power sliding to some interesting drift angles.

<b>Scenario #2:</b>

- ESP = OFF
- Gas pedal = idle (coasting)
- car under control while decelerating.

What I was attempting to do was to provoke the ESP to come back on by abruptly giving steering wheel inputs from left to right as if going through a series of pylons 50' apart.