A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

Audi A/S4 vs. BMW 3/5 Series vs. Subaru LGT Spec B

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2009, 12:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audi A/S4 vs. BMW 3/5 Series vs. Subaru LGT Spec B

Hey guys,

I'm moving up to Boston for grad school in the fall, and want to do some research on the various car options that I have. The budget I have is in the range of 20-30k. I know it's a large range, but want to keep my options open.

The two absolute requirements I have are: manual trans and navigation (I'm completely new to the city and the surrouding areas). I think AWD is required too for the winters, but would be interested to hear your thoughts if you live in the north.

I've narrowed my options down to the following cars (no SUVs):

05-07 Audi A4 / S4 Quattro - price difference b/t the two is small (2-3k @ about the same mileage) and I would love the sound of a V8. MPG on the S4 is horrible from what I understand, but I won't be driving much so it's not a big factor...

06-07 BMW 328xi / 330xi / 530xi - 335 is too expensive, and even the 328/330s will be in the higher 20k range. Most expensive of the choices.

07-08 Subaru LGT Spec B - cheapest option with the lowest mileage. Probably the fastest with the exception of the S4.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on the following:

1 - Fun factor - Given these are all AWDs, can someone with experience tell me how they differ in this department? I feel that if AWD were not a requirement, the BMW (RWD) will win given their suspension setups (note - I have not driven a Suburu or an S4 before).

2 - Refinement - While I would like to have some fun with the car in the non-winter seasons, the car should be a proper "grown up" car (no super harsh rides, etc.).