A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

Snow Tires

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 10:17 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Snow Tires

I recently moved to NH for school and the recent snowfall promted me to consider purchasing snow tires. My 2008 A4 came with Pirelli P6 Four Seasons. Any opinions on whether I should opt for snow tires or just stick with stock? My previous A4 had Continental All Season tires and faired quite well driving in snow.

A few people mentioned Tire Rack for good deals. Since I am a student I am hoping they won't be necessary, but if they are, I would prefer to get a good deal.

Thoughts?
Old 12-07-2009, 11:21 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Snow Tires

Originally Posted by LiveFreeorDie
I recently moved to NH for school and the recent snowfall promted me to consider purchasing snow tires. My 2008 A4 came with Pirelli P6 Four Seasons. Any opinions on whether I should opt for snow tires or just stick with stock? My previous A4 had Continental All Season tires and faired quite well driving in snow.

A few people mentioned Tire Rack for good deals. Since I am a student I am hoping they won't be necessary, but if they are, I would prefer to get a good deal.

Thoughts?
My personal opinion is: go with four (4) true winter tires. Here in Quebec (Canada), snow tires are now mandatory. The deadline this year is December 15th. Get caught with 4-seasons and it’ll cost you a $300 ticket. I was always a believer in winter tires for three major reasons:
1. Much better traction even in low temperatures;
2. Much better control;
3. Shorter stopping distances.

Look on the bright side, your Pirelli P6 Four Seasons will last twice as long since you will only be using them about 6 months out of the year. I have been living here in Quebec all of my 60 years and have seen many winters over my 41 years of driving. You can’t beat winter tires, period.