A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

2009 A4 MMI ......................

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2008, 07:39 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 A4 MMI ......................

Does anyone have a good idea just what the MMI controls?? I see ***** for controlling interior temp and I would assume the radio has the usual buttons. I have zero experience with this and I would like to get some info before my B8 arrives. If you have experience with MMI was it a good experience?
Old 07-04-2008, 07:43 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default I've not used it myself but the Audi system is reportedly better than iDriveyouintoaditch.

There are direct controls for the climate control systems and audio system, especially the most recently used functions like volume, channels, etc. You can also adjust the climate control system via MMI (based on what I've seen in the A8s). Or another way of thinking about it - MMI can control just about everything with a setting or a level but that may not be the only way to do it.
Old 07-04-2008, 07:50 AM
gk1
AudiWorld Super User

Received 517 Likes on 452 Posts

Check out an A5 at your local dealership. Should be identical to the A4 system.
Old 07-04-2008, 08:38 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 42 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Re: MMI

I have, for another month or three, a 2005 A6 with virtually every option offered in that year.

I have driven both the A5 and S5 at my dealer -- the MMI seems virtually identical to the one in my A6. In fact the entire look of the dash is apparently an updated A6 C6 design.

This means, I like it, a lot.

The MMI controls the Navigation, AM/FM/Sirius/CD, and Telephone sub-systems. Additionally, there are controls called CAR, INFO and one for your "address book" (which, if you have both the bluetooth phone and the Nav systems, allows you to enter "Office" as a destination and a phone number, etc.