A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Brake Dust - ArmorAll Wheel Protectant

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2012, 06:32 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Dust - ArmorAll Wheel Protectant

I'm new to Audi with my recently purchased CPO 2009 A4 and I immediately noticed the brake dust accumulation problem on the fronts after only a few days

I did some research and ended up trying ArmorAll Wheel Protectant. This stuff works. I used about half a can on the four wheels and allowed it to dry overnight. I used a tight sealing dust mask when spraying.

I've been driving for about two weeks now since the application and there is almost no brake dust accumulation on the wheels, and none on the body panels. The car has not been washed yet so I can't comment on how the coating performs after washing but I suspect that it's effectivness will be reduced.

Question:
- why doesn't Audi use a low-dust brake pad formulation?
Old 10-08-2012, 09:17 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

The high-dust pads are generally better performers and what most sport sedans use from the factory. My Lexus IS had horrible brakedust. But after enough complaints, Lexus offered free low-dust replacement pads for those who wanted them. I went for it and they barely give off any dust, but they feel a tad less effective during hard braking. There are other aftermarket pads you might look into later down the road.
Personally, I don't trust coating my rims with someone else's formula. Overtime, it could possibly eat up the clearcoat and cause problems with the finish.
Old 10-09-2012, 06:10 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 106 Likes on 47 Posts

I've found that a good, simple coat of wax on the wheel clearcoat after a thorough cleaning helps to keep the dust down and makes it easier to clean. I use Sonax Wheel cleaner which won't hurt the clearcoat over time.
Old 10-09-2012, 01:38 PM
Audiworld Junior Member