A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Bridgestones???

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2010, 12:13 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bridgestones???

I am searching for new tires for my Audi A4 2010 which will be arriving shortly. I am going for the 18inch VMR 708's, and i am really interested in putting the Bridgestone Potenza's RE-11 on them. Is this a bad idea?? And is it possible to find a Summer Performance tire with excellent traction in wet and dry conditions for $250 a tire?? Remember guys i am a newbie to this stuff. Next i will be asking about offset...
Old 05-14-2010, 02:08 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

I assume you're looking for 245/40's. You might want to look at the Bridgestone Potenza RE050's. They're a little less expensive than the RE-11's ($233 vs. $253 per tire from Tire Rack), yet they were ranked #4 out of 22 UHP summer tires by Consumer Reports. (The Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 took top honors, but it is $285/tire.) The RE050's performed very well in both wet and dry situations.

So, unless you live in some place like Florida, you know you'll eventually need winter tires too, right? And, not just because of snow/ice. The rubber compound of summer tires begins to harden when the temperature gets to around 40, so their grip is very compromised in cold weather, even when it's dry. I've not pulled the trigger yet on my winter set, but I'm thinking Bridgestone Blizzak LM-60's.
Old 05-14-2010, 03:17 PM
Former Vendor

Originally Posted by nicholasG78
I am searching for new tires for my Audi A4 2010 which will be arriving shortly. I am going for the 18inch VMR 708's, and i am really interested in putting the Bridgestone Potenza's RE-11 on them. Is this a bad idea?? And is it possible to find a Summer Performance tire with excellent traction in wet and dry conditions for $250 a tire?? Remember guys i am a newbie to this stuff. Next i will be asking about offset...