A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Can I patch or plug this tire? Or is it KIA?

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2009, 03:10 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Can I patch or plug this tire? Or is it KIA?

Found a screw in the shoulder tread block of the tire. Tire pressure is holding fine, but I know the screw went all the way through because it started hissing when I tried to back the screw out. Can this be repaired with a conventional plug or patch, or is it too close to the sidewall?

If I require a new tire, do I need to buy a pair to avoid upsetting the Quattro/ABS, etc? Or can I just buy one replacement tire since I only have 5XXX miles on the set of tires so far (since buying the car new)?
Old 05-05-2009, 05:07 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no tire expert, but I have fixed a number of my own tires. I've had very good luck with the do-it-yourself tire plug kits. I'd say it's fixable. If you're concerned that it is too close to the sidewall take it to a tire shop. They typically won't patch it for you if it is unsafe to do so.
Old 05-05-2009, 05:09 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I've always been told that patching the shoulder portion is a no-no, but don't really understand what the difference is. I suggest taking it to the pros and see what they say. As for buying 1 or 2, I think you would probably get away with 1 since I doubt the tires are very worn after only 5k miles.
Old 05-05-2009, 05:17 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 106 Likes on 47 Posts