A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Questions on buying out a lease

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 11:40 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions on buying out a lease

So, my 2010 P+ Sports 6M A4 has under a year left on the lease, and I'm considering buying the car out.

Vital information:
My lease mileage is 15000 a year (which at my current rate, I'm going to go over)
3 year lease, so it ends Feb 2013
*At about 32k miles, my engine started making a funny noise when accelerating, audi of america told the dealership to replace the entire engine, so my car has a relatively new engine even though I'm in the tail end of my lease.

This is my first time leasing, and I LOVE my car (and regret not having bought it initially a little). I would like to approach my dealer about buying the car out and I'm hoping someone else has experience doing this or can offer advice.

#1. I know the listed 'buy-out' price of my car which I agreed on when I signed the lease agreement, is this actually negotiable? I've heard of people making an offer price under the agreed upon price, however lease insurance taken out by the dealer negates the possibility of them taking any loss, and might remove any incentive they have to negotiate at all on the price.

#2. Will they extend the warranty? I'm aware that people who purchase previously owned Audis sometimes get extended warranty to 100k miles, to be honest this alone makes the concept of buying it out much more agreeable, however I'm not sure if this would apply to lease buy-outs.
Old 03-22-2012, 02:53 PM
AudiWorld Member