Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Not Loving New A6/C7 brakes- Is it Just me?

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2012, 08:15 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not Loving New A6/C7 brakes- Is it Just me?

I'm a newbie Audi owner- just picked up my new 2012 A6 Prestige 3.0 / 20" sport Pak/ Full Led etc. yesterday-screaming deal too. Love everything about this car but the brakes!!! I'm coming from a 5 series BMW plus past Infiniti, etc. but the brakes on this Audi are just very spongy and have a "slow to stop" feeling. I know the publications show good stopping distances but I find that I am constantly braking much sooner into turns and stop signs as the brake pedal feel is just not confidence inspiring. I have only 200 mi. on the car- any pointers or feedback from others would be appreciated.
Old 09-04-2012, 08:42 PM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by pogodog
I'm a newbie Audi owner- just picked up my new 2012 A6 Prestige 3.0 / 20" sport Pak/ Full Led etc. yesterday-screaming deal too. Love everything about this car but the brakes!!! I'm coming from a 5 series BMW plus past Infiniti, etc. but the brakes on this Audi are just very spongy and have a "slow to stop" feeling. I know the publications show good stopping distances but I find that I am constantly braking much sooner into turns and stop signs as the brake pedal feel is just not confidence inspiring. I have only 200 mi. on the car- any pointers or feedback from others would be appreciated.
I felt the same way when I first got my A5. The truth is, BMW brakes are rather grabby...once you get used to that, everything else starts to feel spongy. You will adapt to the Audi brakes after a couple of weeks.
Old 09-04-2012, 09:11 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Brake feel is 1 of the 2 gripes I have. I still can't be smooth with the brakes. It feels like they like to be driven aggressively.