A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

1999 Audi A6 Automatic Transmission Issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2013, 05:16 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 Audi A6 Automatic Transmission Issue

Hi everyone,

I am new to the Audi community and I just purchased a 1999 Audi A6 with 178k miles, automatic transmission. Had the car for 2 weeks, running fine until the other day. Coming to a stop at a red light I heard a loud thump from the tranny as it was downshifting. Pressed the gas to move forward and the car barely moved forward, seems like the transmission was stuck in 3 gear. Did not downshift or upshift at all. Drove the car like this for 5 miles until I got home, turned off the car, turned the car back on and the transmission ran fine. Drove fine until the next day and it happened a second time. Frustrated I let the car sit until the next morning and it drove fine after that. Seems if I drive the car for awhile the problems happens. Any suggestion on what this may be?
Old 06-25-2013, 07:41 PM
Tech Guru

Received 110 Likes on 100 Posts

Check and see if your transmission control unit is submerged in water. If so, take it apart and fix it; if not, pull codes from the TCU and post them.
Old 06-26-2013, 06:01 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

I just checked and a P1857 manufacturer control transmission code came up.

Originally Posted by 4Driver4
Check and see if your transmission control unit is submerged in water. If so, take it apart and fix it; if not, pull codes from the TCU and post them.
Old 06-26-2013, 06:22 AM
Tech Guru

Originally Posted by 1999_Audi_A6
I just checked and a P1857 manufacturer control transmission code came up.
Did you pull up the carpet and check the control unit itself.