A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

2.7t wheel offset requirement question

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2010, 06:21 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.7t wheel offset requirement question

Hey ya'll! Have a question along the same lines, hoping you could help.

Got me a 2000 A6 2.7t. Friggen love the thing. Slapped some Winterforce 215/60/16s (yes I know its the wrong ratio)on the stock rims for the exact reasons mentioned above; obsessive snowboarder, rough roads, occasionally drive through corn fields, love the floaty comfort, muddy farm roads during deer season, etc. The traction is scary. Its actually kind of weird how much pleasure I derive from driving in inclement weather.

I'm pretty new to Audi. My car is equipped with rather large front rotors and calipers (painted red). I assumed they were the stock brakes on an S6. Are they the 321mm ones mentioned above? Are they from an S6 (I only mention the S6 because I saw a C5 one the other day and it had red calipers)? were they stock? An Option? or did they just come on all 2.7ts because of their excessive awesomeness?

My main question though is that I need to get some summer rims and I can't figure out which offset I need to fit over the larger front calipers. I understand what offset is. I do not know what offset my car requires. I gather than many of the Audi OEM 16 and 17" wheels will not work with my front brakes. Is this correct? Will a 38ET rim work on my car?

Would an 18" OZ superleggera that fits a 2001 S4 fit my car?
Old 05-08-2010, 06:45 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

i'm guessing your calipers have the old paint job mod, but they are more than likely the stock hp2 calipers which was standard on your year 2.7t. and with those calipers you will have 321mm rotors.