A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

2003 2.7T STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2003, 08:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 2.7T STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS

While trying to order my new 2.7T, I noticed the steering wheel controls are not available any longer. What is Audi thinking?! These important controls are still available on the 3.0 and 4.2.
I have been driving cars since 1993 with steering wheel controls and think they are indispensible. Does anyone know the name/names of an Audi insider to speak to, to see if the car can be special ordered with the steering wheel controls?
Old 01-03-2003, 08:59 AM
AudiWorld Member

Default In the big picture...

The steering wheel controls on my 2001 2.7T are used very little. Two of the six buttons are for the Audi phone, which I don't have and hence, don't use. The other four control the volume and CD track or radio station. The radio controls (on the radio face) are so well located I rarely use any of the steering wheel mounted controls. Also, the cruise control buttons are on the CC stalk, so they aren't on the wheel. Finally, the buttons on my steering wheels don't always work, which is another reason I don't use them often.

In exchange for you not getting these (limited) use buttons, you get the the AudiSport Design wheel, the BEST steering wheel shape, design and ergonomics available on ANY car at ANY price, IMHO. Ok, I'll trade ya if you want. Mine's Melange. :-)

Don't avoid buying a great car just because it doesn't have steering wheel buttons.

Mike
Old 01-03-2003, 09:02 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Ditto! Couldn't agree more. I don't use the controls, and would prefer the 3-spoke wheel.
Old 01-03-2003, 09:03 AM
AudiWorld Expert

if the wheel were not so cool, I would miss the buttons from my 2000
Old 01-03-2003, 09:26 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Don't know, but I love the steering controls and use them constantly.