A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

a6 2.7 with smoke after warming up

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2009, 05:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a6 2.7 with smoke after warming up

Hi guys first post here. I have a 2000 a6 2.7T. It was cold here yesterday and started out to town when I looked back and smoke was engulfing the street. appeared to be white. So i pulled over quickly and saw that it was dripping oil slowly under the front middle of the engine. Also when I pulled out the dipstick to check the oil level it was pressurized and spit all over the place. I took it to a non audi garage today and the guys said it had oil in both, I believe, intercooler hoses which meant it smoked both turbos. I personally find it hard to believe both went at the same time but hey im no mechanic. Can you guys give me some heads up on this before I spend 3200 replacing both turbos.

Thanks
Old 01-21-2009, 06:03 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Classic!! Good thing you posted here. Good news is you absolutely nailed the symptoms. Here's

the cause: early model 2.7T engines have a known history of this issue. Your exhaust recirculation is blocked, in two possible places: A frozen "F Hose" and/or a frozen breather valve. As the pressure builds in the engine as a result of these blockages, it forces oil through whatever passages are avaiable - cam seals, turbos, valve seals, etc. You already noted the pressure in the system when you pulled the dipstick out. The oil is forced into the cylinders, exhaust, etc. and therefore you end up laying a serious smokescreen.

Chances are very good that you'll be perfectly fine. First, though, ensure your engine oil level is good - you probably lost more oil than you think, so double check that.

Next, clean stuff up as best you can; this will allow you to keep an eye on leaks and see if they continue.