A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Clutch Problems... Adjustment?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2009, 07:32 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Clutch Problems... Adjustment?

Well, my clutch is very near the end of its life. It served my dad for 90K+ miles, but since I am harder on the clutch than he is (partly to do with my style, partly to do with being new to manual), it is showing serious signs of wear after 5K+ of my driving. Long story short: it slips under moderate to hard acceleration. The amount of slippage varies with the application of the throttle. So I'm looking at a clutch plate whose material has been worn down to the last little bit.

I am definitely looking to get a new clutch, or at least replace the plate and flywheel, and maybe throwout bearings. But right now, I am away from my trusted shops and, as a college student, I don't have a lot of time to devote to my car. So I am wondering: as a stopgap measure, can the clutch be adjusted to minimize the problem? There is a VW dealership in town that I'm sure would be able to handle the work if there's anything can be done. But that's about as far as my trust extends, since I have no experience with--nor can I find any reviews of--the service department.

And as an aside, for someone like me who drives hard 25-75% of the time, any recommendations on replacement clutches/hardware?
Old 10-12-2009, 03:03 AM
Tech Guru

Received 107 Likes on 98 Posts

That is a premature death. Your "style" needs adjustment, not the clutch. Replace the clutch.
Old 10-12-2009, 04:03 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by JediJoker7169
... I am wondering: as a stopgap measure, can the clutch be adjusted to minimize the problem?
Hey Jedi

Not sure if this is do-able. As far as I know the cluthes in our cars are self-adjusting, I might be wrong though.

Cheers
Massboykie
Old 10-12-2009, 01:28 PM