A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

color choice dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2000, 07:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default color choice dilemma

I have been observing this forum for several months now, and really appreciate the comments, and obvious passion that most of you show for Audis, and driving in general. I have seen surveys that call for options/colors,etc. I would like to hear specifically from owners of brilliant black/clearcoat audis as well as ming blue owners, about how well the finishes are wearing.I have been vasilating between those 2 colors, and can't seem to decide. I currently drive a a-4 silver/titanium. I had hoped to get the silver/royal blue a6, but Audi discontinued the interior color. I am adament on the ambiente atmosphere, so melange will be the interior color, with either black or blue paint. Any opinions or experiences that I should consider? Swirls? Imperfections? Please refrain from mail on all the various color combinations that appeal to you all personally! Black or blue?
Old 06-30-2000, 09:33 AM

Default I have a brilliant black/onyx '00 4.2 and....

it's a great combo especially when the car is clean. As far as cleaning goes: 1) You must be dilligent because the black tends to show dirt, salt, etc. quickly, 2) To avoid swirls use a device called the California Water Blade (thanks to JP4, btw ;-)) and 3) Swirls and surface irregularities can be treated using Zaino products.

The absolute last interior choice for me would be the melange. 1) It shows dirt, and 2) It just doesn't look good with a blck car, IMHO. This interior looks better with the racing green, jaspis and especially andorra. The ming blue is probably too dark for melange, as well. As a matter of fact, if it was the only interior choice for black I'd have a major dilemma. Other than this I like the melange. IMHO, tungsten or onyx are the only choices for ming or brilliant black.