A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

JHM Drivetrain Stabilizer to Eliminate Snub Mount?

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2011, 11:09 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default JHM Drivetrain Stabilizer to Eliminate Snub Mount?

I've always been allured by the idea of running only electric fans and no clutch fan. To completely eliminate the fan, pulley, and bracket would require rerouting of the belt, relocation of the tensioner and potentially the idler, and deletion of the front snub mount on the engine. I'm not an engineer, so my hunch that the drivetrain stabilizer would be sufficient to eliminate the snub mount might be incorrect, but it's worth looking into.

I've got the fanless timing belt shroud to replace the one on my car that has the fan support and snub mount on it, so all I'll need to do is source an electric fan to replace the clutch fan (not too difficult), reroute the belt, and stabilize the driveline/engine assy another way, like that drivetrain support. Do you guys think it is possible, or is the snub mount absolutely necessary?
Old 04-07-2011, 11:30 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

isn't the snub the front engine mount? the DTS is underneath the drivetrain a bit behind the engine, not sure how that would take the place of the snub - i would think without the snub, your engine would torque it's way out of the motor mounts, not to mention it would be vibration city. the DTS merely limits the drivetrain slack....anyone correct me if i'm wrong, i'm far from a tech guru
Old 04-07-2011, 11:45 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member