A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

New Chicago S6 owner, ex-S4 owner

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2007, 08:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Chicago S6 owner, ex-S4 owner

Hello AW-
I had been on the B5S4 forums before under the name TheYearAfter S4, and had fun with my old vehicle, but recently bailed. I am a drummer in a band (www.theyearafter.com) and really wanted a wagon to haul my crap around, but didn't want to sacrifice power/luxury. Searched for an Avant S4, but came across my new beauty.... '03 S6 (w/ warranty). I am really excited about it, and its potential.

My post here has two purposes -
1- to announce my arrival (and *upgrade* some may say).
2- to ask a question about the tranny.

The S4 had a 6spd, and a 5spd A4 1.8T before that. been a LONG time since i've been driving an auto. I spent some time searching the forums regarding cold behaviors of the tranny, but have not found what i am looking for....

I live in the city, and drive in stop/go traffic to and from work. the auto is NICE for this, but not recently in the mornings, when it's ***** cold outside. I've let the car warm up, but when i leave my house (immediately into traffic), there are a couple of issues.

A) The tranny feels like it is slipping sometimes before it will engage into gear (after being stopped). when it does engage, it is usually with a very hard jerk.
B) sometimes, while stopped, the car feels like it engages the tranny, and i will see the RPM's dip way low, and even once (today) it died at a stoplight (similar to keeping the brake on and letting off the clutch).
C) today, also, when starting from a stoplight, it slipped then jerked and then went into "fail safe mode" (according to the manual) where all the letters where highlighted (PRNDS). I pulled over, and re-started the car and it went back to normal mode.