A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Where to start with 2001 A6 2.7T brake replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2013, 08:15 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where to start with 2001 A6 2.7T brake replacement

My buddy owns a tire shop, and during a rotation today they mentioned in need new front pads, front rotors, and back pads (but not rotors).

First of all, is doing just the pads, but not the rotors, ok to do on my car?

My story is I knew next to nothing about cars, until I got this car in 2006. Since then I've done plenty of jobs myself, the biggest being auxiliary water pump replacement. So I have some aptitude at least! Anyway, I have NEVER done anything with brakes. There's a couple tech articles with good info, but I need something more detailed. I'm hoping for a complete beginners guide, that will give me step-by-step for doing this job. Can someone PLEASE provide a reliable link or two?

Also if there's any pitfalls or tips or anything else I would benefit to know, please don't hesitate to post here!

Thanks in advance Audiworld - you've saved me thousands $$ over the years, here's to a couple hundred more!
Old 05-02-2013, 03:06 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by hewtown
..... I'm hoping for a complete beginners guide, that will give me step-by-step for doing this job. Can someone PLEASE provide a reliable links...
Hey Hew

I have a "couple" of links on here...
Http://www.VAGLinks.com

Hopefully the DIY section will save you some more $$$ in the future... ;-)

Cheers
Massboykie

Last edited by massboykie; 05-02-2013 at 03:18 AM.
Old 05-02-2013, 04:44 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Hoo boy. Its a very do-able job. If you google search you will find one or two really good step-by steps from a B5 S4 (same HP-2 brakes)

1. its fine to do pads and not rotors. In fact, i doubt you need rotors up front