A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Advanced Key problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2009, 12:00 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advanced Key problem

Hello! I'm a noob here and I did search the forum for an answer before posting but I apologize if there was a prior discussion of this issue that my search did not yield.

I have an '06 A6 Avant with Advanced Key. We bought the car CPO and at the time of purchase it only had one master key. As part of the agreement, and a requirement to be a CPO, the dealer was to furnish a second master key. Well, the dealer came through and ordered one for me. I brought all keys and the car in for coding. The new master key does NOT control via Advanced Key. It DOES unlock, lock, and start the car when inserting the blade in as a traditional key but when trying to unlock, lock, or start the car with the new master key in my hand or pocket it does nothing.

The problem master key is brand new so the battery should not be an issue. To eliminate that problem I did try a working CR2032 battery and it still did not work. To further complicate matters, the master key that the car came with originally works perfectly and Advanced Key works without issue with this key so I do not suspect a bad door handle or ignition lock. I also tried starting the car with the new non-fully functioning master key in the ignition and pressing the unlock button without success in hopes that this would sort of sync the new key. Plus, I read this in a past post as being something that might help.