A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Snow driving what gear

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2011, 01:56 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Snow driving what gear

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, just got my first Audi. It's a 2005 A6 3.2 with 80,000 miles, auto trans. Got a good deal on it, so my wife & I decided to go for it. We love the car! Anyhow, I have what is probably a dumb question, but I can't find the answer in the owners manual, so here goes: When driving in the snow, what gear should I put the car in? In my Acura TL (also auto trans), I put that car in 1 (first gear) to prevent the car from shifting. In the Audi, after D (drive) it goes in to S (sport). Is there a way to access a lower gear, like in the Acura, to prevent the car from shifting? Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. Also for the winter will be putting Blizzaks on the Audi, use them on the TL and the help a great deal. Ok, thanks in advance for any help!
Old 10-29-2011, 04:44 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

if you push the gear shift to the right, it should go into manual mode so you can select the gear you want by pushing the shifter forward (upshift) or back (downshift)
Old 10-29-2011, 06:59 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Did what you said audi40,and it worked! There was 1st gear, 2nd gear, etc. Now I can use 1st or 2nd and drive more safely on slick roads. Thank you very much for the information & help
Old 10-30-2011, 11:43 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

It's an automatic so why not let it pick the right gear depending on your speed? What am I missing? I certainly can't imagine that over reving the car in a lower gear is going to be safer on slick roads.
Old 10-30-2011, 12:00 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 175 Likes on 154 Posts