A7 Discussion forum for the Audi A7

Data SIM and phone

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2015, 12:30 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Data SIM and phone

Sorry if this has been cover many times before, but I could not find anything.

Is it possible to set the MMI to only use the sim card for data, and use my iphone that is connected via bluetooth as the phone?

Now it seems like numbers are dialed by the dashboard SIM, but I am able use the directory from my iphone tho.

There is only one signal for 3g on the screen, and I guess thats for the SIM in dash.

Im new to the A7.
Old 06-03-2015, 03:07 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

You want the car to use the data from the iphone ? If so No. At some point the contacts get synced between your phone and the car, its not like the car SIM is dialing #'s. Its only a data SIM card...

Originally Posted by Snappy79
Sorry if this has been cover many times before, but I could not find anything.

Is it possible to set the MMI to only use the sim card for data, and use my iphone that is connected via bluetooth as the phone?

Now it seems like numbers are dialed by the dashboard SIM, but I am able use the directory from my iphone tho.

There is only one signal for 3g on the screen, and I guess thats for the SIM in dash.

Im new to the A7.
Old 06-03-2015, 09:03 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default Sim

The dash SIM acts like a phone, and data as I see it.

If I make calls, it comming from the dash SIM. Anyway.

What I want is:
- The SIM in dash should only be there for data trafic.
- My iphone, which is connected via bluetooth should receive the calls, and dial #.
Old 06-04-2015, 02:01 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

uh as far as i know No, the T Mobile SIM that comes with the car, if you are in the US is data only buddy. When the phone is synced to the car all calls and contacts can be seen on the display....

Originally Posted by Snappy79
The dash SIM acts like a phone, and data as I see it.