A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'01 A8 L...Guys, I'd love for you to take a look and give me your opinions...

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2011, 06:01 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '01 A8 L...Guys, I'd love for you to take a look and give me your opinions...

I am FAR from an expert on older A8's. I'm mulling over making a run at purchasing this vehicle. A few questions for you guys:

http://www.roadtripcarolinas.com/web...lle-SC/634410/

How is the Navi in this old fella? The screen looks tiny, and well...it was 2001 so I cant imagine it's very accurate or intuitive. Are there disc upgrades available? If so, what years does it take you to? I'd imagine you cant just pop the '08 United States map disc into it.

I know the pre '07 models have a bit of a shaky reputation (to say the least) in regards to reliabilty and cost of ownership. What would you have your eye on or ask the seller in regards to what parts of car are likely to be in need of near future repair or inspected by a mechanic? It's very low mileage for a 10 year old car, but still...

What's a real ball park cost on yearly maintenance assuming there isn't anything urgent needing repair? In other words, what does an avg oil change cost and what else will probably need to be replaced within next 10-20K miles and what will that set me back?

What are your general thoughts on price? Do you guys really enjoy this vehicle on a daily basis?

Do you think it would be a real bear trying to sell this baby in 3 years with more mileage? Not exactly as easy as throwing a Honda Accord on autotrader I'm sure...pretty niche product.

Thanks so much guys for guiding me through this and taking the time to view the link and lend a helping hand to a novice!

Thomas
Old 02-05-2011, 10:32 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts