A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1997 thermostat location

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2010, 05:34 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 thermostat location

Hello all,

I am a newbie and needed a little help. I find a lot of useful information on this site and value the knowledge of the posters on this site.

Can anyone tell me the location of the thermostat housing on my 1997 A8 Quuattro 4.2?

Thanks Rdizzy
Old 10-22-2010, 07:57 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

You really don't want to know
On the front of the engine, upper left side (passengers) next to the water pump. Requires timing belt removal to get to it. Very involved, including front end of car removal (most do), fans, serpentine belt, etc..

http://www.audipages.com/Tech_Articl...eplacement.pdf

http://www.freewebs.com/ltooz/98audia8.htm#394830226

A few very talented mechanics have gotten to it without total t-belt removal in a very unorthodox procedure...but it's almost as involved as a timing belt job. If you're due for one, this would be the time. Dealer price for replacing thermostat alone is at least $500. T-belt job, including thermostat and waterpump (recommended)is at least $1800. Home mechanic DIY $500 give or take.
Old 10-24-2010, 10:42 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

you can chance the thermostat without removing the timingbelt on the 32V engines
on the 40V engines however (1999+) you do have to remove them.

Look at the picture where the Thermostat is placed,
In big words all you have to remove are the engine coves and the coolant hoses infront of the belt cover and you have acces to the thermostathousing.
a tip mabey: place some plastic or tape over the timingbelt cover underneath the thermostathousing before you remove it so the coolant doesn't run over the timingbelt.