A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A8L transmission question

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2005, 10:45 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 146 Likes on 110 Posts
Default A8L transmission question

Hi all,

I'm a newbie that just bought a 2001 A8L with 50,000 miles on it, after driving a 1990 V8 5spd for 14 years. I've read a lot of threads over the past couple days coming up to speed on this car, and it seems that the only major trouble spot is the transmission. Reviewing the prior owner's records, I see no evidence of the transmission flued being replaced and I doubt it was since it was fully dealer maintained, and I now know that the dealers at least believe this to be a lifetime fluid.

Perhaps its just my imagination, but I think I am hearing a faint knocking sound from the engine area when the car is in gear at rest. No noise in park or neutral. None of the squealing from the cavitation. Transmission otherwise functioning perfectly. Any ideas what this might be?

I'm guessing as a precautionary measure, all of you would suggest that I change the filter and fluid promptly. I intend to. My questions: (i) I suppose Wendy referenced on Audipage.com (great site BTW) is a good source for the parts, is this right? Any other recommendations?; (ii) It seems the debate over synthetic vs. OEM Audi fluid is unresolved. Is that right? If the major concern here is breakdown of the fluid, it would seem that synthetic would be definitely desireable, provided it is compatible with the internals; (iii) where is a good source to get the oem fluid from for cheap?

Thanks in advance. I've been a regular on the v8 list over on audifans for a long time, which is the only real support for my V8, but they have virtually no support for the A8. The contributions on AW for the A8 are great, particularly PaulW (those S8 seats are sweet BTW).

Cheers,

Bill G.
Old 04-03-2005, 10:55 AM