A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY: Removing the head from D2 A8 (AUX) and valve job

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2021, 04:23 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default DIY: Removing the head from D2 A8 (AUX) and valve job

For those of you tracking my issue with timing and then major f up, here is what I did over the past several days to rescue the car.
Car runs again with the help of several DIYs from this site and youtube (Thanks for A8 timing belt DIY and torque spec discussions). See those posts when rebuilding your engine. I have included as much as I could in one place for your convenience. Feel free to make additions or ask questions. I am not a professional mechanic, but interested in cars and decided to keep this low mileage D2 A8 from the scrap yard.

D2 A8 4.2 40v Valve Head removal (Driver side) – Passenger side would be the same basic process except for removal of the actual head from the car. Not sure if the clearance issues would be better or worse, but there is the rigid coolant pipe that attaches at 2 places along the side and mounts to the rear of EACH head using 2 allen bolts. It's a rigid pipe so if removing the driver side head, then you only need to remove the two bolts.

1) Remove all of the things you normally would to take off the coil pack, including wires

2) Disconnect air intake hose

3) Prepare to remove intake chamber

a. Mark where all hoses go and take pictures. I put tape on each hose and letter coded so I could get them back in place. When you reassemble the engine, you’ll likely have a couple of hoses free and scratch you head. A to A, B to B, et cetera. Writing on the intake with Sharpie works for those plugging into the intake. There are a lot of connectors, I will not detail them all, but recommend marking what each is and where it goes.