A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driver Side Suspension POPs after Speed Bump...? This ain't right!

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2012, 04:29 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driver Side Suspension POPs after Speed Bump...? This ain't right!

Anyone ever see this happen before? Apologies in advance, newbie here and more enthusiast than skilled mechanic. I don't know if this is related, but a few months back I had both outer tie rod ends replaced on my 2000 A8 4.2 Quattro - local mechanic. I understand the outer tie rod ends are on the upper part of the suspension yes? This photo is from the lower driverside - reaching in behind the front wheel with my iPhone to snap this shot.

Happened yesterday, pulling out of my parking space in my apartment complex, left turn out of my space, and 20 feet later, going over the speed bump I hear a POP under the left front. It felt like I just got a flat tire. When I get out and look, the wheel is nearly rubbing the top of the wheel well! Still inflated. Holy moley! So I grab my iPhone and reach behind the wheel an snap some pictures. How the heck does this lower arm pop out - doesn't even look like the threads suffered any damage? I'm not sure how all of this is supposed to connect together, but am I wrong to assume the mechanic did not put the suspension back together properly? The scary thing is I've been driving with this for a couple of months. Two very minor symptoms that looking back might have been precursors. 1) vibration in the right front wheel under braking - I assumed it was a the rotor that needed replacing... perhaps it still does? 2) subtle popping sound under the driver footwell in the last week - usually when going over the speed bumps in my parking garage. Glad this happened in my parking garage and not out on the roadway at speed... :-{