A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help!! A8 auto transmission expert advice needed!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2007, 01:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help!! A8 auto transmission expert advice needed!!!

Hi folks,

Im new to the A8 but madly in love with it already...
I have one very serious question which i am desperate for advice on.

I have a 1994 A8 4.2 Quattro with the tiptronic trans, with 140,000miles on it...

I have noticed that when i accellerate hard and then relax back to a sensible speed there is a large 'thump' from the transmission which usually happens around 50 mph when it shifts into top gear.
This is only ever felt under light driving conditions and doesnt happen when driving the car hard.

Also when coming to rest, at traffic lights for instance, there is a sudden braking effect from the transmission which is very noticeable and sometimes acompanied by a 'thump' similar to the one mentioned above.

The box is as smooth as silk otherwise and all fuctions are good, with no warning codes or lights up.

I have noticed that when the car is at ilde speed on a slight incline, in drive and reverse, the car wont hold and gently slips backwards.
I dont have much experience of auto transmission but i do know that they are supposed to hold on slopes at idle in drive or reverse.

I have had the fluid and screen filter changed at my local Audi dealer thinking this would solve the problem, but if anything, all of the above symptoms are more noticeable since the work was carried out.

Is it possibly the torque converter or something that can be cured with a software check??

Any advice from you time-served audi folks would be greatly received.

I previously owned an A6 which was heaven to drive and looked pristine but the auto trans failed and it broke my heart to send her to the breakers yard as it wasnt worth repairing...