A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lumbar supports ...

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 02:21 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lumbar supports ...

I have recently received an email from mpollan asking about my experiences with replacing my lumbar supports in the front seats. Sorry for not having responded earlier, but life's been pretty hectic! Mark, I thought I would respond to the board for greater "coverage" ... I am not really a car expert, so I will tell you all that I can.

My experience with the stealer on this front was far less than optimal; the car was in the shop 5 separate times. The second trip was because they didn't have the parts in stock, but it was really ridiculous.

Ultimately, after arguing incessantly each time that they were fixed, that they tested them personally, that they didn't know what I was doing to them because they worked in the shop (nice, huh?), etc - I got smart and demanded the shop manager come out and we used table top cardboard holders for business cards to set in the seats, hold against the fully inflated lumbar, and then watched several times the lumbar deflate by just waiting about a minute. finally they believed me!

Here is what was done, broken out by trip:

Trip #1:
ordered 1 of each of the following:
4D0-881-869-A Adjuster
4d0-862-225-M Hose

Trip #2:
installed the above

Trip #3:
replaced 2 of each:
4D0-959-757-B Adjuster
4D0-959-935 Air Pump

Trip #4:
replaced 2 of each:
4D0-959-931 Control Unit

Trip #5:
reinstalled driver's lumbar switch because it was upside down.

By Trip #4, everything was beautiful - so I cannot tell you if it was only the control unit all along, or if other items needed replacing as well - but since everything is pretty much new for me now, I am a happy, happy camper.

Feel free to comment or ask questions, and sorry again for the length of time it took me to respond!