A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ready to buy an A8, Have a few ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2005, 10:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ready to buy an A8, Have a few ?'s

I've been considering a used A8 ('01 or '02) for about 6 months now, I drove one Saturday, and it was everything I expected and more. Safety and the Quattro AWD are the main factors influencing this decision, not to mention that it's an amazing car. I drive about 40k per year business and personal, so I need something that will handle the mileage well. I usually put over 200k on a car before moving on, and this looks like a great car to spend that kind of time in, but I'd like to hear that other people have high mileage A8's out there. I have a few questions on options: heated stering wheel, how do I know if the car has it, where is the switch for it. Has anyone tried to add rain sensing wipers? my '01 Passat has them, they work perfectly, and I hate to give them up. How prevalent are the engine ring/block wear problems? that really scares me, I don't want to be afraid to drive the car and constantly worry about mechanical engine failures. How common are MMI problems? The car I test drove had one, I could get the menu to display, but couldn't move to different options. I've read some A8's have glass that blocks UV and can interfere with cell phones and radar detectors, was this an standard or optional in '01? Thanks for the info, sorry the post got so long. Looks like you have a great support/enthusiast forum here, I look forward to getting involved.
Thanks,
Phil Calhoun
Old 02-13-2005, 11:12 PM
Elder Member

Default A few answer's

Audipages has an excellent <a href="http://www.audipages.com/usedA8.html">Used A8 Buyer's Guide</a> that's worth reviewing. To answer some of your specific questions,