A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reliability of an 2001 S8

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2004, 01:59 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reliability of an 2001 S8

Hi All,
An Audi newbie here. I am trying to join the Audi club by getting a used 2001 S8 (with about 50k miles). The question I have is about the reliability of the 2001 S8. The car does not come with any warranty. 3rd Party extended warranties on S8 are pretty expensive. Most 3rd party warranties will not cover items like shocks, brake pads, belts and hoses which seem are the most likely to break. Keeping this in mind, I was wondering if I could get the S8 without any form of extended warranty. I guess I wouldnt want any major components to break on me which will probably drive me bankrupt. What do you experts think about the S8, reliable daily drive? Exotic high-bucks-maintenance car? I heard that the BMW 7 series can be expensive to maintain, is that true with the S8 as well. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Karthick
Old 07-24-2004, 03:43 PM

Default If its less than 50K miles, you might be able to get an extended warranty from Audi; see this...

https://www.audiworld.com/pureprotection

I am also considering purchasing a 2001-2003 S8. However, after reading the A8 forum for over a year, and having owned a 2000 Audi S4, I do not think the S8 would be as reliable as a Japanese luxury car such as Lexus, etc. I've heard others on here say that you should expect, on average, to payout $2,000 per year in maintenance and repairs. If you have a transmission failure, or other costly item, you're looking at thousands more than that, in one lump sum.
I think an extended warranty from Audi is worth a couple thousand up front, for piece of mind.
For me, I will not buy an A8 or S8 without the Audi Certified (Audi Assured) warranty, which will have to come through the Audi dealer.