A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Silver paint does not match on my A8L...Anyone else? Little luck with Audi....

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2003, 07:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Silver paint does not match on my A8L...Anyone else? Little luck with Audi....

Hello, this is my first time posting but a long time Audi fan... I bought a brand new 01 silver A8L in August 2001.. I love this car.. It sits in the garage most of the time and It only has about 12,000 miles in just over two years of ownership. I have a few nice toys but this car is the one that makes me smile just looking at it! Worth every penny! However, the silver paint does not match. when looking down the side of the car, you can see that the rear door and quarter panel are just a little darker shade. This is on both sides! I have shown this to the dealer and they see it too.An Audi representative came to see the car after a year and a half of me calling them and he too can see this..They all just put their hands in the air..It really shows up at night under a street lamp.. A friend saw it and asked if I had body work done and that they did a bad match up! That did it! After Audi saw that I was not going to back down, (why should I when the paint does not match on a $72,000 car) They offered to take two payments off the car.. Big deal! That would not cover the cost of a good repaint which I'm not sure if I would go that route anyway. I took all the trim off plus the rubber trim and see no signs of body work..Just unmatching paint. I am not planing on trading this car in but I was thinking of buying a new 04 A8L in the future but not after the way Audi cares for it's buyers! They just don't care! I have a new Saturn as a driver and they treat me like gold! Audi has always had trouble in customer relations and I see things are the same... I am really pissed off at Audi.. I am thinking of my next m