A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help - Bad Brake Problem!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2010, 04:21 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help - Bad Brake Problem!!!!

A little history - Just got finished replacing both the front a rear brake pads (stock Audi pads) on my Dad’s 2007 A8. Had the rotors turned as well. Have Vag-Com to reset the parking brake, no problem there.

Problem, BIG problem – I happily get everything done and hand the keys to my Dad. He drives off but returns a minute later saying the brakes are shuddering / pulsing. I get in the driver’s seat and take it for a spin. To my horror, the brakes and shuddering / pulsing really, really bad. Feel it through the pedal like the ABS is kicking in and out. It’s like nothing I’ve ever experienced after a brake job. I’m no professional but I’ve done dozens in my lifetime.

Hooked the Vag-Com back up and didn’t get any codes.

Anyone have any ideas? My initial impression was warped rotors but my goodness This is bad, the car is undrivable!

Thanks,
Tad
Old 03-12-2010, 04:43 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 117 Likes on 95 Posts

Originally Posted by tadslc
A little history - Just got finished replacing both the front a rear brake pads (stock Audi pads) on my Dad’s 2007 A8. Had the rotors turned as well. Have Vag-Com to reset the parking brake, no problem there.

Problem, BIG problem – I happily get everything done and hand the keys to my Dad. He drives off but returns a minute later saying the brakes are shuddering / pulsing. I get in the driver’s seat and take it for a spin. To my horror, the brakes and shuddering / pulsing really, really bad. Feel it through the pedal like the ABS is kicking in and out. It’s like nothing I’ve ever experienced after a brake job. I’m no professional but I’ve done dozens in my lifetime.