A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Seriously looking at this D3. Anyone w/ personal knowledge of it?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2011, 03:22 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seriously looking at this D3. UPDATE: Bought it. Added 1st week impressions

Here's a link to the dealer ad:
http://www.njluxurymotors.com/detail...d-6828404.html

Can't figure out how to post a link as I haven't posted since the AW format change. The D3 QuattroWorld forum is dead, though the D2 yielded some help.

Anyway, I put a small deposit down on this D3 today with the sale and deposit contingent on a successful PPI by the local Audi dealer.
It seems this has most options including the seemingly rare sport package.
I've been driving Audis for 17 years, but am new to the D3. I've been reading up on them the last couple of days, and haven't been surprised by anything yet.

I going to talk to the Audi dealer prior to the PPI to put in specific requests. Other than the typical 'looksee' they do, anything in particular I should tell them to check?
Having 73.5k miles, I doubt the timing belt has been done. The dealer/seller told me it had Bluetooth but I'm not sure yet. The PPI will help me identify if it's a late '05 or not.

As a shot in the dark, it would be cool if someone here owned this vehicle to get the 'skinny'.

I've owned an allroad and replaced the airsprings a couple of times. Is the system similar? Arnott provides a reliable, lifetime-warranty aftermarket airspring for the allroad application which is nice, but I'm not sure there's an A8 version; gotta check that.

Any info is appreciated. I'll keep searching the forums gathering info.
(I need to change my sigpic. It's way outdated.)

Last edited by AudiOx; 06-21-2011 at 10:18 AM.
Old 06-03-2011, 04:04 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 117 Likes on 95 Posts