A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Yet Another MMI Malfunction Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2013, 03:46 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yet Another MMI Malfunction Thread

Hi Guys,

Noob here. Just took possession of a really nice 2007 A8L 4.2 right before Christmas. All was well until the temps here dropped below freezing. Now I'm having MMI problems. Symptoms seem to point to "Pepsi Syndrome" so I took the console apart, found evidence of a very small coffee spill, and thoroughly cleaned all the switches, sides of switches, springs, bezel, and all. Spent a couple hours with Q-Tips and alcohol-based cleaning solution. Compressed air finished off the job...she's as clean as new but my problems persist. Ross Tech has been closed for the holidays but as soon as they open tomorrow, I'll be ordering my VCDS so I can scan the fiber ring to help pinpoint the problem.

From searching and reading the forum here, spending more hours than I care to admit doing so, I'd like to ask for some help. Here's the symptoms:

It seemed to work fine when I picked it up Friday before Christmas although I did notice an occasional static noise when listening to the radio. After the snow we had on Christmas day, it has been totally wonky until the system "warms up"...then it MOSTLY stabilizes with just an occasional hiccup. It keeps rebooting itself, sometimes the cd changer works, sometimes the NAV works, then they all shutdown and the system reboots. When it first started happening, the adaptive air suspension would not come out of lift mode. Since cleaning the buttons/switches, things seem to be better and don't last as long, and the car no longer stays in lift mode.