4000cs fuel problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2010, 06:40 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4000cs fuel problem

hi i have a 87 4000cs and lately i have been having a problem with it intermittently dumping fuel into the motor and bogging it down. i have no idea what is wrong. anyone have any ideas. thanks
Old 09-14-2010, 05:29 PM
AudiWorld Member

im no proffesional, nor have i ever heard of that but heres somthing to try

while the car is running disconnect the temp sensor located under the radiator hose going to the engine. it sends signals to the ECU to give more fuel when the engine is cold meaning the sensor could be telling the computer that the engine is cold. without it it may run better.

if that doesnt fix anything then try disconnecting the idle stabilizer valve.

and if that doesnt do it either then try the distributor pressure regulator, located right on the fuel distributor itself. its a little grey bit with a plug going to it, unplug it while the car is idling

if none of that works ask rogviller he seems to know alot about these machines

cheers and good luck - Aidan
Old 09-14-2010, 09:13 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Does it send extra fuel to all cylinders or just one or a few?

I'm trying to come up with a way that this could happen...

If we had electronic fuel injection it would be easy, because each injector would be electronically controlled and I would say they're just getting a bad signal once in awhile.

But we have CIS (continuous injection system), which is controlled mechanically by the large air vane just above the air filter. So theoretically fuel shouldn't be going into the engine unless enough air is also going in to activate the injectors. That's why CIS is so great in my opinion, it's pretty robust.