Front right CV joint replacement

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2012, 04:23 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front right CV joint replacement

Okay guys, for the past few months my front right CV joint on my 4000 has been on its way out. It makes alot of serious ticking when i turn. My dad just ordered me a new CV joint for $97.50. does that seem like a decent price? Anyway, i am going to begin pulling it apart this week when i get the part. I have never done this before either so i am kinda hopeing i can get a few tips.

i have alot of regular tools like socket sets and screw driver types but i am just wondering if i need anything special
Old 06-02-2012, 05:01 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

That's about what they should cost. Is it just the joint or the whole axle? I always do the whole axle myself, just because it's one less thing to mess with.

Special tools... You'll for sure need a 30mm socket for the axle nut, plus your favorite ball joint/tie rod puller. Hammering on them won't work and you'll just mess things up. First choice for me would be a jaw type. Last resort should be a fork as it generally tears the rubber up, but does eventually work... If you're replacing those parts anyway then it won't matter. There won't be a better time to change them if you can.

It might be possible to move the strut assemble enough to get the axle out without having to undo the top. If not you'll have to make or buy a couple of tools. One is to take a deep 22mm socket and cut the side open like this. The other is to take a deep 15mm socket and grind it so it has two tabs like this.